≡ Menu

Nominations Needed

International Code Council Looking for Nominations

Here’s the deal there are many unsung heros that fall under the area of Inspectors.  So why not make sure they are nominated and honored.

Nominations are now being accepted for the ICC Awards to be presented at the 2010 ICC Annual Conference, scheduled for October 25–28 in Charlotte, North Carolina.

ICC Awards will be presented in several categories to honor individuals and organizations for their accomplishments and service to ICC and the building safety industry.

The deadline to submit nominations for this year’s ICC Awards is Tuesday, June 15, 2010. Awards must be received by close of business of the deadline date. Completed forms may be mailed or faxed, or the information may be submitted by email.

ICC Awards will be presented

Bobb y J. Fowler Award. Named in honor of the first chairman of the ICC Board of Directors and visionary for the consolidation of the model code industry, presented to an individual whose contributions to the building safety industry advance ICC’s goals of achieving a safer environment. Particular emphasis will be  placed on the recipient’s holistic view in achieving the stated goal and his or her focus beyond local and regional concerns to issues and activities that span the globe. Individual will have been or will currently be a leader in the industry and have a legacy of service with integrity, professionalism and compassion in furthering the noble cause of ICC.

Gerald H. Jones Code Off icial of the Year Award. Given to an individual whose contribution to the code enforcement profession is meritorious and worthy of recognition. Individual will demonstrate professional abilities; is recognizable as an example for all members of the code enforcement profession; and has furthered the cause of safety in the built environment within a jurisdiction, state or the country.  This award was recently named in honor of Gerald Jones, retired Code Official from Kansas City, Missouri, in recognition of his contributions to national policy on code development through his work with the Code Council, the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the National Institute of Building Sciences, and other organizations. The award is also presented in recognition of service by past founders of the three model code organizations who have demonstrated outstanding meritorious service to these organizations: Albert H. Baum, M.L. Clement and Phil Roberts.

ICC Affiliate Award. Presented to a member of the building industry who consistently demonstrates the qualities of integrity, professionalism and dedication in his or her services to the profession and whose personal standards represent the spirit of public service to the development of codes and standards in the interest of public safety. Given in honor of three individuals who demonstrated unselfish service to the model code organizations and exemplified the qualities cited for granting this award: John Files, Wilbur H. Lind and Alton Riddick.

ICC Community Service Award. Presented when circumstances warrant a need to recognize meritorious service by an individual, organization, jurisdiction or community group that promotes the public health, safety and welfare by initiating activities or actions which are considered to be above and beyond the normal expectations.

ICC Fire Service Award. Given to a member of ICC whose service, professional abilities and leadership have been exemplary in the development of the ICC fire code and have served as an example to all fire prevention and fire protection professionals. Presented in honor of Robert W. Gain, a founder of the Uniform Fire Code and a distinguished member of the organizations promulgating the fire code.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment